Student news

Date published: 16 December 2011

OUA is pleased to announce the awarding of scholarships totalling $120,000 to undergraduate, postgraduate, and indigenous students for the academic year 2012.

The OUA Scholarship recipients are selected based on outstanding academic achievement. We received a large number of applications for the scholarships.

This year, the overall standard of applications was incredibly high. A significant number of applicants obtained 'High Distinction' in their academic results, many with marks over 90 per cent - a stunning achievement.

Students' efforts and dedication have paid off. Congratulations to the 2012 Academic Achievement Scholarship award recipients:

Undergraduate Scholarships

  • Tracy Bennett - Curtin University
  • Georgina Scambler - Griffith University
  • Yvette Ross - Macquarie University
  • Darren Shergold - RMIT University
  • Lisa Chappell - Swinburne University of Technology
  • Nicole Sibilla - University of South Australia

Postgraduate Scholarship

  • Damien Choy - University of South Australia

Indigenous Scholarship

  • Samantha Alexander - Griffith University

Open Universities Australia wishes to thank all students who submitted an application and encourages you to apply for the 2013 Academic Achievement scholarships which open in October 2012.