Media centre

Date published: 21 December 2010

OUA is pleased to announce the awarding of scholarships totalling $120,000 to seven undergraduates, one postgraduate, and one indigenous student for the academic year 2011.

The OUA Scholarship recipients are selected based on outstanding academic achievement. We received a large number of applications for the nine scholarships.

This year, the overall standard of applications was incredibly high. A significant number of applicants obtained 'High Distinction' in their academic results, many with marks over 90 per cent - a stunning achievement.

Students' efforts and dedication have paid off. Congratulations to the 2011 Academic Achievement Scholarship award recipients:

Scholarship winners
Student Name
Curtin University
Liza Richardson
Griffith University
Sharyn Taylor
Macquarie University
Rachel Griffiths
RMIT University
Toby Rapely
Swinburne University of Technology
Jennifer McCowatt
University of South Australia
Daniel Tout

Postgraduate Scholarship

  • Juliette Kent

Indigenous Scholarship

  • Alison Larkin

We wish to thank all students who submitted an application. We encourage you to apply for the 2012 round of scholarships, which open in October 2011.

About Open Universities Australia

Owned by seven of Australia's premier universities, OUA is the national leader in quality online tertiary education, enrolling more than 144,000 students since 1993. We provide access to more than 1100 units and 130 courses taught by 18 leading universities and other tertiary education providers around the country in: Arts & Humanities, Business, Education, Health, Law & Justice, Information Technology, and Science & Engineering.

For further information, please contact:
Jessica Singh
External Communications and Media Relations Officer
Open Universities Australia
Ph: 03 8268 2412