Media centre

Date published: 23 April 2012

Open Universities Australia (OUA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2012 NOVA Awards, celebrating innovative teaching and inventive online course units.

The biennial 2012 Nova Awards consist of three categories; The Undergraduate Unit Award, Postgraduate Unit Award and Rising Star Unit Award.

This year's winners are:

2012 NOVA Awards
Undergraduate Unit Award

Outbreak: The Detection and Control of Infectious Diseases

Dr. Danilla Grando, RMIT University

Undergraduate Unit Award

Negotiation and Dispute Resolution

Dr. Teresa Merchant, Griffith University

Postgraduate Unit Award

Introduction to Theories of Counselling

Dr. Lorraine Fleckhammer, Swinburne University of Technology

Paul Wappett, OUA CEO says: "Recognising innovative online course units is an important part of our partnership with our provider universities."

"The NOVA Awards focus on online interaction and collaboration between students and tutors. The winning units are standouts amongst other online units, establishing and promoting a positive online learning experience - which is a core focus for OUA," says Mr Wappett.

Following a high number of quality nominations, OUA announced the winners recently as part of its biennial conference for partners and providers - Partners Moving Forward 2012, held at Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre.

The Undergraduate Unit Award was awarded to RMIT University's Outbreak: The Detection and Control of Infectious Diseases unit. It was awarded for its excellent organisation and careful structure which creates innovative use of scenarios and small group work, giving students a highly rewarding learning experience. The unit received extremely positive results in student surveys, with students highlighting the supportive role of the Unit Coordinator.

Griffith University was congratulated on its Negotiation and Dispute Resolution course unit that engages with students on many levels, promoting the student experience. A worthy winner of the Postgraduate Unit Award, this course unit delivers innovative content centered around student learning opportunities including interaction and collaboration activities.

The Rising Star Unit Award recognised a new unit - the Introduction to Theories of Counselling by Swinburne University of Technology. It was selected for its focus on establishing a community experience for its students. The student focused unit uses a variety of learning environments and media, exposing students to different learning methods that cater to their individual needs.

The NOVA Awards celebrate outstanding achievement by OUA provider universities in the use of online learning technologies to support and enhance learning in the courses they offer online through OUA.

About Open Universities Australia - leading online learning

Owned by seven of Australia's premier universities, OUA is the national leader in quality online tertiary education. Enrolling more than 200,000 students since 1993, OUA provides access to over 1400 units and 170 qualifications taught by more than 20 leading Australian universities and tertiary education providers.

For further information, please contact:
Jessica Singh
Senior External Communications and Media Relations Officer
Open Universities Australia
Ph: 03 8628 2412
Mobile: +61 419 662 553