Media centre

Date published: 22 August 2011

OUA is pleased to announce the recipients of the OUA Tutor Excellence Awards for 2010. These awards are given to tutors who have received exceptional student feedback, and who have contributed positively toward the future of online education by participating in the Tutor Support Management (TSM) program.

The award recipients for 2010 are:

  • Chris Kandunais (UniSA)
  • Geraldine Lane (Curtin)
  • Caroline Cleal (Curtin)
  • Polly Weston (Curtin)

The TSM program trains higher education tutors in sustainable, ongoing online student support practices, particularly in units with large enrolment numbers. Tutors who have undertaken TSM training are equipped to support students better in the online space, and the success of this training has been reflected in OUA's student satisfaction surveys.

To be eligible for the award, tutors must have been an online tutor, alongside other tutors in the unit, and participated in the TSM training. Student and professional feedback is also taken into account. The four recipients of the award will receive $500 each and an award certificate in recognition of their achievements.

OUA would like to warmly congratulate Chris Kandunias, Geraldine Lane, Caroline Cleal and Polly Weston on their achievements. We are proud of their contribution to OUA and online learning, and look forward to seeing this area of higher education improve even further in 2011.